Skip to content

BsAs A Pie (Buenos Aires On Foot)

January 3, 2011

Whenever Porteños or expats ask me what I like about BsAs, the first thing I say is how I love that it is a walkable city. The layout of the avenidas and calles might be confusing, and drivers don’t exactly give way to pedestrians, but it is still possible to get from one barrio to another on foot.

But then again, it might just be me. When I get to spend weekends in Sydney, I go to Bondi beach by bus, and return to the city on foot (takes about 90 – 120 mins, depending on how many stores I check out along the way). In Paris, I walked from the Notre Dame to the Eiffel Tower.

Here, I average about 7 kms per day.

I didn’t have class today, so I joined a walking tour that started in Congreso at 11:30 and ended in Obelisco at 1:30. It took 30 minutes to get there by the Subte, but I decided to walk back home (I had my trusty Guia”t” anyway). My trek home started at 2pm, and I got to the apartment at 5:30 pm.

According to Google Maps, I had walked a total of 12.7 kms from 11:30 to 5:30 pm.

Of course, this didn’t include the distance I covered when I got lost in Centro, walking around in circles.

Also, yesterday, I discovered that the door in our kitchen (which was always locked), leads to the staircase! Since then, I’ve ditched taking the elevator, and so I have been going up and down 23 flights of stairs (but only during the daytime).

Yes, I like to torture myself like that. I’m surprised I only have 3 blisters on my feet.

ps. With all the walking I do here, you would think I’d be losing weight. Well, lunch today was a slice of extra greasy pizza with an indecent amount of cheese. Plus, this fancy gelato place 8 blocks away from my apartment has an awesome promotion today, so I rewarded myself with Dulce de Leche gelato. 1/4 kilo of gelato (What? That’s the norm here! When in Rome, si? )

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 2:05 am

    PM! Hehehe! Ang dami namang lakad nyan! Nadaig ang Australia!🙂 Its good to read from you and love the graffiti pics! Galing! 🙂

    Baka naman may tour ng mga farms dyan – at nang malaman mo kung bakit walang Argentinian corned beef! 🙂

    See you soon! Back to the office now!

    • January 4, 2011 4:10 am

      haha, may mga guacho tours dito. yun na yata ang closest to a farm tour. i think walang corned beef dito kasi sa sobrang daming baka, hindi na nila kailangan ipreserve? at gusto nila fresh! see you! enjoy first day at work🙂

  2. Amane Kaneko permalink
    January 4, 2011 5:10 am

    Hey Pia
    Good to see that you are enjoying yourself so much! Are you taking a language course?
    Was in HK about 2 weeks ago, caught up with Rebecca at Lin Hyun. Hope there will be a chance to see you this year!
    Amane

    • January 4, 2011 11:38 am

      Amane! No, I’m not. I’m learning the language through the cooking course instead, and from the people I meet. I would’ve wanted to, but I only have 2 weeks left here – doubt I’ll learn anything substantial within that period. I should’ve enrolled before I got here:/

      Aww, HK! I’m sure it was a blast. Japan is next on my list, but I always tell you that, huh? Don’t worry, you’ll be first to know when it pushes through!

      • Shen permalink
        January 5, 2011 6:40 am

        Pia, please don’t torture us more than you can!!! You’re having the fun of your life, while we slog at our desks!

        All the Spanish which you use, I would have thought you were a pro at the language!

        Come back soon….be home when I’m heading to Mnl. Earliest trip is May……hahaha…..

        Hv more fun & adventures! All the walking…..Copenhagen will suit you well…..

      • January 5, 2011 8:54 am

        Copenhagen is still on my list, don’t you worry😉 Can’t wait to see you in May, hope you have free time on your next trip. Haha!

Leave a Reply

