Skip to content

Protesta ala Argentina

January 3, 2011

Protestas y Huelgas are mundane events in Buenos Aires. I stumbled into quite a big one last week. It seemed like your normal protest – road closed, megaphones, crowds, policemen in bulletproof vests…

then BOOM!

an explosive set off in the middle of the road, which was about 8 feet away from the sidewalk I was walking on.  I scanned the area to check if others reacted the same way as I did. Nobody else was perturbed. A Porteño just smiled at me, his head tilted to the side,  as if to say “Welcome to Argentina!”.

Of course I had the temerity to take a picture after what just happened, fully aware that another explosive will go off soon after.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

