Skip to content

Year End Traditions

January 3, 2011

I was in Downtown BA  last Wednesday, which happened to be the last day of the work  for most Porteños. As I emerged from the subway station, I noticed it was raining sheets of paper. Apparently, this is another Argentine tradition to celebrate the last work day of the year, by tossing out documents that are already considered irrelevant to business.

A week before that, I was on my way back to the apartment, when I saw a school girl drenched in what looked liked white mud. I was told it was a mixture of flour, eggs, tea, coffee, vinegar and whatever leftovers you’d find in the kitchen. This is the tradition for students who will soon be graduating. I was too disturbed by her appearance that I forgot to take a picture.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

