Skip to content

Not Even Close

February 22, 2011

These days, exercise comes in the form of grocery shopping. It is also my way of dealing with BsAs withdrawals, as the food I buy leads to my attempt to recreate the meals I’ve had in Argentina. Or I just like to make a mess in the kitchen.

Two weeks ago, I dropped by Rustans to buy vanilla, how I found myself in the ice cream section is beyond me. Maybe it was serendipity, especially since I made a jawdropping discovery:

I will still be able to have a taste of Argentina in Manila! Gracias, Dios!

I sent text messages to friends about my great discovery. In all caps. Nevermind if a few replied to me saying that Haagen Daazs DDL flavor has been around for years, I was a happy camper. I was so happy that I didn’t even think to buy a cup. Does that make sense? Knowing that it was available was enough to assuage my longing for the best ice cream in the world.

Last weekend, I decided I was mentally and emotionally ready to finally have cup of dulce de leche ice cream and so I went to a Haagen Daazs cafe. I didn’t event bother looking or sampling the other flavors (I’m not even sure if they allow sampling at HD). So, I found myself a seat in the corner, whipped out my phone for the requisite pre-consumption photo, and then it was time to eat.

My first taste didn’t register too well, perhaps it was the excitement. My second try was still anti-climatic. I think it was on my fifth attempt when I gave up and realized that Haagen Daazs Dulce de Leche ice cream doesn’t compare to what they have in Argentina. It was almost depressing.

What a waste of Php 175.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

