Skip to content

Comida Internacional : VENEZUELA

April 25, 2011

Tell a brown Asian girl that Venezuelan food can be had in Buenos Aires, then expect to be interrogated for details.

I walked over to Caracas Bar, a nondescript warehouse looking establishment at the corner of Guatemala and Borges. I came for early dinner (i.e. 8 pm) and so the place barely had any guests. Since it was a bar, it was dark and I had to move next to the window so that I can read the menu properly.

I didn’t know what to expect, I had no knowledge about Venezuelan cuisine prior to that meal. I asked the waitress what the quintessential Venezuelan fare is, and she pointed to arepas.

This is Arepas/Pabellon – carne mechada, caraotas, tajada y queso. It’s basically like a burger of pulled meat with beans. According to Wiki, the bun is made of corn dough.

So delicious, even if the photo I took doesn’t do any justice to this scrumptious sandwich.

A few days later, I met a Venezuelan expat and we bonded over my newfound culinary discovery and indie music.

I miss meeting people from all over the world on an almost daily basis…

No comments yet

Leave a comment